exhausted.

My to-do list this weekend had three things on it.

1. Plot NaNoWriMo 2010 novel, which now has a working title, “Melting the Snow.”
2. Plot NaNoWriMo 2009 novel, working title “The Novelist.”
3. Edit/rewrite enough of The Novelist to have two submissions finished for my writing group.

My to-do list now stands:

1. DONE, for the most part.
2. DONE
3. Half done, maybe.

I think I’m ready for NaNo this year. I just want to write a more detailed outline of my plot, which I didn’t get to this weekend because I was too busy trying to work ahead for my writing group. Uh huh. I was that kid in school. Am that kid now. So after the initial planning, lists and ideas, I switched gears to last year’s NaNo novel, which I hadn’t plotted at all. The very basic idea got me through to 50k, but didn’t leave me with anything I liked or anything that was even usable. I’ve now plotted that story, including an 1800-word narrative outline (is that a thing? I think I’m going to make it a thing) and am going back to edit/rewrite the story. It’s the third time I’ve written the first 10 pages, but I think I’m finally much closer to the story I want than I had been.

Its been two days of writing, writing, writing, and I’m tired. That same kind of tired you get after your first day at a new job. Its exciting but mentally exhausting. With one new writing piece due for my writing group Tuesday and another do the last week of NaNo, I really wanted to have a solid 20 pages finished to submit. I have 11.5. Not bad, but not great. Yes, I could skip a week, but since I’m the one that started the group last summer, I feel like I need to set a good example and turn something in for critique. Plus, its nice to get feedback on work.

Oh—those 11.5 pages? They’re ones that I had already submitted. That was just the second rewrite of the beginning of my story. But so much has been added, and so much of the story has changed, that I think its going to go out to the group again. Its that second submission coming up at the end of November that I’m a bit more worried about. I do still have two weeks before the start of NaNo, but in that two weeks I have a giant photo shoot at work which translates into weird hours a couple of nights, a movie with some girlfriends, and cleaning the house for a house guest.

I can do it, right? Maybe after a good night’s rest I’ll feel ready to tackle Adele and Jack again. Maybe while sleeping Adele will tell me about the phone call she’s supposed to have with her sister…

Leave a Reply

