pacing problems.

Today’s goal was 10,000. I hit 10,000–woot! But I’ve encountered another problem and discovered something about myself: I’m terrible at pacing.

At about 20,000, I started to worry that there was no way I was going to finish my story in 50,000 words. While I don’t believe I need to limit a novel to 50,000 words, I do believe that I need to finish my Nanowrimo story by the end of November or it will never get finished, and since I work hard to stay on track for 50,000 words, that means I need to finish the story in 50,000 words. The idea is to get it out and I can go back and do a heavy rewrite later.

But at 20,000 words it didn’t look like I would be able to finish. So today, with my 10,000 word goal (which put me up to 39,466) I wanted to finally advance the story.

And now, sitting right around 40,000 words, I’m not sure what I’m going to do for the last 10,000.

I’m terrible at pacing.

At least this is only a very, very rough draft, right?

Leave a Reply

