writing prompts.

I started a writing group about six months ago, and so far, it has been a lot of fun and helpful for my writing (hopefully the others would agree they’ve been helped by the feedback). One of the things we do at the start of each meeting is a 20-minute free write on some kind of prompt.

I’ve done a bunch of stuff for these prompts, but I’m curious where other writers go for ideas. I have two really good books, plus I come across good ideas on other writing blogs and sometimes I just find a photo or piece of art that I think would be fun to write on. The last prompt was from these paintings, and it provided really interesting results.

So where do you get ideas for prompts? And how many of these kinds of free writes have turned into stories for you?

Leave a Reply

