ideas.

They come from all over the place, usually not where one would expect to find an idea for a new story.

I don’t remember where my first NaNoWriMo idea came from, but my second appeared in response to a story contest that I turned into the required 50,000 words. Other story ideas come from other people’s stories, dreams, my own experiences or, like the one that came earlier this morning, out of nowhere.

I was driving to work this morning when an idea popped into my head. I’m hoping that doesn’t mean I was zoning out driving to work instead of paying attention to the road, but in any case, after I parked I had to take a moment to write down my idea before heading in to work. Last night, a news story teaser caught my attention on the radio. And after simmering in the back of my mind all day, I think the two are going to one day combine to be different elements of the same story.

I’m slowly filling a notebook with ideas—I’ve learned to never leave home without something to write on. I figure if I have enough maybe one day something will be a winner.

Where do your ideas come from?

Leave a Reply

