character surveys.

There are a million out there, and they always seem really long and tedious. The funny thing, to me, has always been that I don’t really get to know my character until I’m finished writing whatever I’m doing–so character surveys never really help because I feel I can’t answer them truthfully until I’m finished with the story, and its a tool, I think, would be helpful to have before starting.

I did find a neat one the other day, only because it covers a lot of things the other surveys don’t, it gives links to other sources for information and its a giant form that spits out into a PDF when its finished. It’s here. I’m trying it out on a new story idea I had from a writing group prompt a few weeks ago. We’ll see if, by the end of the story, Jessica still fits what I’m inputting now.

Do you do character surveys before you write? Which ones do you use?

One thought on “character surveys.

  1. Hi! Thanks for featuring my survey, I really appreciate it! ^_^

    If you have any questions or need help with the blog, let me know.

    Good luck and have fun with it!

    All the best,

    Manon

Leave a Reply

