surprise inspiration.

I walked into the ladies’ restroom the other day only to notice a woman using one of the seven stalls with the door wide open. I noticed because directly across from all the stalls were the sinks and mirrors. When she saw me, she slowly shut the stall door.

Why am I writing about this strange experience? Because my thought process in the two seconds our interaction took place was:
“Why is she peeing with the door open? What adult does that in a public restroom? Maybe she has agoraphobia, and is now having a panic attack because she had to shut the door. Huh, that would make an interesting story, I should make a note of that.”

I’m finding I have these kinds of thoughts more and more often as my writing group continues and I find myself writing on a more consistent basis.

Where is the strangest place you’ve had a surprise inspiration?

Leave a Reply

