christmas cookies.

Christmas Spritz Cookies

I love baking. I don’t do it as often as I’d like, except at Christmastime. I tend to go overboard in December, making far too many cookies in far too many varieties, but there is always someone to give them to. Since I went vegan three years ago, its been fun both trying new cookie recipes and turning some old favorites into vegan versions.

My all-time favorite Christmas cookie is a spritz cookie. My mom had a really old, metal press growing up that had the twist top instead of the trigger to press the dough out of the tube. I’m not sure what ever happened to that old press, which is too bad, really, since I think it worked better than current cookie presses. Anyway, I haven’t had a press since I moved out on my own until this year. I finally bought one, so a few days ago I had to try it out and make some spritz cookies. I found the vegan recipe here, and it was the closet thing I could find online to what I remember from years ago. I did tweak the recipe just a tiny bit.

Vegan Spritz Cookies
1/2 cup vegan butter
1/2 cup vegan shortening
2/3 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup soy yogurt
1 1/2 tablespoons canola oil
2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
50 drops green food coloring

• Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spread parchment paper (or use a Silpat) on a cookie sheet.
• In a large bowl, beat butter and shortening with an electric mixer until very light.
• Add powdered sugar, soy yogurt and oil. Beat until fluffy. Beat in vanilla and almond extracts. Gradually beat in half the sifted flour and baking soda until it is fully incorporated. Add the food coloring and the other half of the flour, then beat until fully incorporated.
• Spray your cookie press inside with nonstick spray. You can also chill your dough to make it a bit easier to press cookies.
• Press your cookies onto the cookie sheet, and add any sprinkles you might want.
• Bake 7-10 minutes until the edges are just starting to brown.

I made Christmas trees this time, but have more shapes to try out, including a candy cane and a snowman. There can never be too many spritz cookies.

Leave a Reply

