bread. 1 of 52.

For Christmas this year, my hubs bought me a Kitchen Aid mixer. So domestic, isn’t it? (I bought him a frying pan. Guess where we spend a lot of time?) I have a million things i want to make with it, but decided it would be fun to have a goal of 52 kinds of bread by the end of the year. One kind each week. This is last week’s bread (I’m a bit behind on blogging. Sorry. It was a trying week.)

Sliced Bread

Rapid Mix Cool Rise White Bread from … the cookbook that came with the mixer!
We were busy last weekend, so I needed something fast–and something with all the ingredients on hand, so this was a winner. It was already vegan, making it even easier, though in the future I want to purposely try and veganize some bread recipes. Anyway, here’s the recipe:

Makes 2 loaves
6-7 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
3 1/2 teaspoons salt
3 packages active dry yeast
1/4 cup butter, softened (Earth Balance for me)
2 cups very warm water (120-130 degrees F)

Place 5 1/2 cups flour, sugar, salt, yeast and butter in mixer bowl. Attach bowl and dough hook to mixer. Turn to Speed 2 and mix about 20 seconds. Gradually add warm water and mix about 1 1/2 minutes longer.

Continuing on Speed 2, add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, and mix until dough clings to hook and cleans sides of bowl, about 2 minutes. Knead on Speed 2 about 2 minutes longer.

Cover dough with plastic wrap and a towel. Let rest 20 minutes.

Divide dough in half. Shape each half into a loaf and place in greased loaf pans. Brush with oil and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Refrigerate 2-12 hours.

When ready to bake, uncover dough carefully and let stand at room temperature for 10 minutes. Puncture any gas bubbles which may have formed. Bake at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes. Remove from pans immediately and cool on wire racks.

Unbaked Loaf

Baked Loaf

With the two loaves, I made the first one in french toast since the top got slightly too brown for my liking. The second loaf we’ve been eating as toast. It’s pretty dense bread, and overall not my favorite. I never know with bread, however, because our house is so cold in the winter months I have a hard time getting things to rise. Although this says it’s cool rise, I wonder if the temperature of the house prior to putting it in the fridge has any effect.

The french toast recipe I used was from Vegan with a Vengeance–“Fronch” Toast. I have to be honest–it wasn’t my favorite. I found it didn’t have a lot of flavor. I’m not going to post the recipe here, and I love everything else about that book, and all of her other books, so I feel a bit bad. The one thing I did like was using soy creamer. I think other recipes I’ve tried haven’t done that, and it helps coat the bread slices nicely.

French Toast Batter

French Toast Cooking

French Toast

So, week 1:
Rapid Mix Cool Rise White Bread  2/5 slices.
Vegan with a Vengeance “Fronch” Toast  2/5 slices. 

Leave a Reply

