bread. 4 of 52.

I’m behind in these. So there will be two bread posts in one week, because despite not posting, I actually did make two kinds of bread. Up first, overnight buns, a recipe of my moms that I veganized. It isn’t perfect, since it’s missing all the eggs that usually make these really fluffy. I did come across this, however, so I have some more non-egg options to try next time I make these.

bun

Overnight Buns
Combine 4 cups of water and 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Add 1/2 cup of vegan shortening and 1/2 cup of vegan butter. Boil for 5 minutes, then cool to lukewarm.

Add 1 packet of yeast, the equivalent of 4 eggs from Egg Replacer (whip this first), 1 tablespoon salt and 12-13 cups of flour.

Let double in volume, then punch down. Do that again.

Then form into buns and put on greased cookie sheets (or cake pans, or pie plates … this makes a lot, I usually use whatever I happen to have on hand) and let rise overnight.

Bake in the morning at 350 degrees until they’re golden brown and yummy. Best right out of the oven, in my opinion.

Week 4:
Overnight Buns  4/5 slices (uh, buns)

One thought on “bread. 4 of 52.

  1. The bun recipe can also be made into cinnamon rolls and baked in the morning. Stacy ate these warm with butter and then she flattened the bun before she ate it. Nice memory.

Leave a Reply

