books i’ve read: quiet.

Quiet Cover

I read the book “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking” by Susan Cain during my time off for the holidays. It’s a book I’m probably going to recommend to anyone and everyone, introvert or extrovert. The author does an excellent job of explaining the research that is out there and providing real life examples, but she doesn’t come off as preachy or insisting her conclusions are correct. Science is learning new things every day. But for me, an introvert (I don’t know if online tests are accurate or not, but the one I took based on Meyers-Briggs put me at 79 percent introversion), it had a lot of insights for why I do things or like things a certain way.

This was one of those books where I actually said “huh,” out loud multiple times. I’d checked it out from the library, and before I finished, my husband had ordered a copy on Amazon so we’d have one in the house (and so he could read it since my copy was due back to the library).

The book is helpful because it gives ideas for how introverts can survive and thrive in this country, which places a high value on extroversion. It also talks about how to help introverted kids find their way. I think it’s also beneficial for extroverts to read because it’ll help explain why introverts act the way they do.

I could go on for pages, but really, just pick up the book and read it. It doesn’t take long, and it’ll grab you from the start.

Leave a Reply

