read: the revised fundamentals of caregiving.

Revised Fundamentals

I was so excited to finally read this book. I bought it when it was released last year, but was slogging through other books and only got to it last weekend. When I read it in two days.

I love Jonathan Evison’s other two novels, “All About Lulu” and “West of Here.” This one, “The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving” is no different. I rated it five stars on Goodreads, which doesn’t often happen.

Ben Benjamin’s life has fallen apart, and in an attempt to start putting it back together, he takes a class on being a home health aid. After completion, he gets a job caring for Trevor, a 19-year-old with advanced muscular dystrophy. The two become friends, and eventually events lead up to Ben and Trev taking a road trip from Washington state to Utah, stopping to see unusual sights along the way. But because Ben is really bad at life (this isn’t all his fault, which is revealed throughout the book), the road trip takes twists and turns (sorry) and doesn’t end up how either of them pictured it.

Evison is so good at creating believable, yet completely off-the-rails characters. Ben is a loser, but you can’t help but love him and cheer for him. This book is really sweet, very sad and laugh-out-loud funny. Really. I woke up my husband the night I was finishing it because I couldn’t stop laughing. I will read anything Evison publishes, but if you’ve never picked up one of his books, this is a good one.

Leave a Reply

